Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

OpenGL & Vulkan

tom_vrx
Adept I

OpenGL (v4.3) vertex_attrib_binding problem with AMD R5

Hi,

I'm a senior developer and have been working with OpenGL for almost two decades now.

I recently bought a laptop with AMD A9 9420 (integrated Radeon R530).

The installed driver on Windows 10 64 bit is: Adrenalin Edition 18.8.1 (18.30.01.01 RC5), atiglpxx.dll version 8.14.01.6564

I've noticed a problem with OpenGL 4.3 feature ARB_vertex_attrib_binding (VAB), when used with a single vertex array object (VAO).

In my minimal example I'm drawing with two programs configuring the VAB for each draw, but reusing the same VAO and the problem manifests itself as driver not honoring the set VAB config, specifically glVertexAttribBinding and/or glBindVertexBuffer.

Initial VAO/VAB config is done like this:

glBindVertexArray(d->vao); // VAO has an element array bound for drawing single quad

// shaderA uses 2 vertex attrib inputs (VA idx 1, 2 - vert and col) coming from vbo0 at vertex binding index 0

// shaderB uses 2 vertex attrib inputs (VA idx 1, 2 - vert and col) coming from vbo1 at vertex binding index 1

// shaderB uses 1 vertex array input (VA idx 0 - integer index) coming from vbo2 at vertex binding index 2

glEnableVertexAttribArray(0);

glEnableVertexAttribArray(1);

glEnableVertexAttribArray(2);

// this vert input and VAB index is used with shaderB

glVertexAttribIFormat(0, 4, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, 0);   // VA 0 is integer vbo3

glVertexAttribBinding(0, 2);                        // it goes to VAB index 2

glBindVertexBuffer(2, d->vbos[2], 0, 4);            // and it sources from vbo2

// these inputs are used with both shaderA and shaderB

glVertexAttribFormat(1, 4, GL_FLOAT, 0, 0);         // VA 1 is float vec4 vert

glVertexAttribFormat(2, 4, GL_FLOAT, 0, 16);        // VA 2 is float vec4 col

glVertexAttribBinding(1, 0);                        // it goes to VAB index 0. initially