cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gaming Discussions

socieoc
Journeyman III

Recommendations Choosing A Render Workstation

Hey guys. I am currently in the process of creating my own architectural 3D Render / Animation business. I am pretty new in relation to understanding the specs of render workstations and I am very confused as to the specs that I will need for a fluid work experience. I was thinking of getting one of the Ryzen Threadripper models as the performance V price seems to be pretty reasonable compared to other competitors. I was just wondering if anyone who is experienced in this field could give me a good recommendation on which model to purchase or maybe if another competitors model might be more suitable. Also, is there a lot of work in assembling these workstations as I have no prior experience of assembling computers & feel I might damage it in the process?

My workflow is usually, Autocad -> Sketchup -> 3ds Max -> V-Ray -> Photoshop -> Premier Pro -> After Effects.

During my workflow I could have a number of tabs with different programmes running simultaneously.

If anyone has any useful knowledge or recommendations I would be greatly appreciate it.

Cheers,

Sean

0 Likes
7 Replies
benman2785
Big Boss

Threadripper 2950X + the affordable workstation-gpu of your chioce!
ps wait for Vega2.0

PC: R7 2700X @PBO + RX 580 4G (1500MHz/2000MHz CL16) + 32G DDR4-3200CL14 + 144hz 1ms FS P + 75hz 1ms FS
Laptop: R5 2500U @30W + RX 560X (1400MHz/1500MHz) + 16G DDR4-2400CL16 + 120Hz 3ms FS
0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello,

There is only a couple of things to take into account when building a TR workstation:

1/ If going as pure render or computing machine, where the software of interest use many cores as possible and run 24h/7j: TR2990XW or TR2970WX
2/ If going for a more general "do it all" workstation rig, use wide range of software that don't always leverage very high core count: TR2950X or TR2920X