cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

sanael
Adept I

R9270x Black screen

So, I have been using same PC for the last 3 years and a half, updated windows to 10 around a year back, no major problems. But last night, without updating anything driver or OS related, the screen froze and I had to turn off the PC. Today, when I tried to boot it up again, I constantly got a black screen when windows logon should appear. Since changing to the integrated GPU didn't seem to make a difference I blamed it on the OS and did a clean W10 install. Now both integrated intel card (up to 1920x1080) and the 270x (on 1024x768) behave normally, but when I try to install the latest AMD drivers the screen goes black (regardless if using the R9 or the intel integrated card) and I have to reboot the computer.

Any explanation/solution?

0 Likes
1 Solution
sanael
Adept I

Ok, just received my gtx1050 today, nothing out of the ordinary but still quite the improvement. And so far so good, so it was definitely a fried GPU, maybe because of it being 3 years old, maybe because some malfunctioning caused by the new drivers... definitely not for pushing it too far, though. Hopefully this one won't meet the same end the last 3 AMD cards did. Thanks to all those who tried to help!

View solution in original post

22 Replies