cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

tolinbran
Adept I

Question regarding RMA shipping cost

So, I am starting the process of RMAing my 1600 due to the segfault issue, the RMA has been approved and an RMA# issued.

My question is, do I need to pay for the shipping to send the processor to AMD?

I've been trying to read up on the whole process and have seen conflicting information with some people saying you have to pay to return it and AMD pay to send the replacement, while other say AMD pays for both ways.

I live in Australia and the return address I was given is in Singapore if that has any affect on the answer.

This is my first time having to RMA a product as well as the first time I've had to send something overseas so I have no idea how to go about it to be completely honest.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

0 Likes
1 Solution

You have to pay for shipping the processor back to AMD for RMA.

If AMD was paying for it they would have sent you a prepaid box or have you print  a Prepaid Shipping Label  to apply to the box with the processor for shipping. The instructions doesn't indicate anywhere where AMD is sending you a Prepaid box or Label.

Just be sure to properly package the Processor so that it won't get damaged while shipping back to AMD as per the link in the RMA instructions.

Copied from the Shipping Instructions link:

NOTE! Any physical damage to the processor that occurs during shipping will void warranty coverage for retail packaged ‘Processor in a Box’ processor(s).

View solution in original post

10 Replies

When you received the RMA number, Didn't it come with instructions concerning shipping the processor back to AMD?  It should have mentioned if you need to pay for return shipping costs or AMD will pay.

0 Likes

Yes, I receives shipping instructions but no mention of who pays for shipping it to AMD (unless its staring me in the face and I just can't see it), here is the content of the email