Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

OpenCL

robin_christ
Journeyman III

Bug in AMD driver

Hello community,

First, about me:

I'm a student from Germany. I am studying Computational Engineering and I write GPU-accelerated numerical software.

With the current AMD Radeon 18.2.1 drivers, there seems to be an issue using clEnqueueReadBufferRect (I haven't tested clEnqueueWriteBufferRect though) with large numbers:

Suppose we want to generate BEM-matrices on the GPU. For problem sizes above a specific limit, the problem cannot be calculated in one run because either the total available memory size on the device or the maximum available memory per buffer is too small to hold the full matrices.

We now split the problem and just calculate parts of the matrices on the GPU.

Suppose our problem is large, say n=23171.

The host buffer now has a row width (for std::complex<float>) of 23171 * 8 = 185368 bytes.

The kernel now generates a certain number of columns of the whole matric, hence clEnqueueReadBufferRect.

Because our matrix is quadratic, the length of the rows, region[1], is 23171.

Even though nothing is special about the number 23171 it is not possible to profile the clEnqueueReadBufferRect workloads anymore, because the values getProfilingInfo<CL_PROFILING_COMMAND_END>() and CL_PROFILING_COMMAND_STARTreturned from the profiling events are identical!

I can neither confirm nor deny the correctness of the data read or written yet because the mesh for test case is (more or less) randomly generated.

However, let's take a look at the parameters of clEnqueueReadBufferRect:

I identified region[1] and host_row_pitch as the offending parameters.

A few examples might be (first the region[1] parameter and afterwards the how_row_pitch parameter):

23171 | 23171 * 8 -> FAIL

23170 | 23171 * 8  -> FAIL

23170 | (23171 * 😎 - 1 = 23170 | 185367 -> WORKS

Why does 23170 | 185367 work? Well, let's take a look at the products of the parameters: