• MSI Z170A KRAIT GAMING 3X
  • CPU/APU
    • I7 6700k 4GHz
  • Power Supply Unit  Make, Model & Wattage
    • EVGA - SuperNOVA 1000 P2 80+ Plat
  • RAM
    • 16GB

Describe your issue:

• I have been attempting to get Crossfire working on and off for the past ~2 years that I've had these cards installed, the second card never runs.
  • I have used "Working" settings for games, where the user that posted it says everything is working on his end for Crossfire
  • Imgur: The magic of the Internet  This is link to Global Settings, InGame settings and showing how the second card is not working while in game. (In game hud shows first card, and AMD settings menu shows second card)
  • The only time I have been able to get both cards working is when I used the Low power delete thing and forced the card to output activity. I am not a fan of this because these cards shouldn't need a 3rd party program to make it run the way it was built. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks
0 Likes
2 Replies

If you are using two R9-390X GPU cards you will need a stronger PSU than 1000 watts. According to this website: PSU REQUIREMENTS - RealHardTechX  the minimum total system wattage for a PSU for your GPU Cards in Crossfire is 1100 watts.

How to configure AMD Crossfire : How to Configure AMD CrossFire™ Using AMD Radeon™ Settings

How do I setup AMD CrossFire™ on my system?

​If you would like to setup AMD CrossFire between two or more discrete graphics cards (PCIe socket cards) correctly, please read the following steps:

1. Please make sure that the power supply unit meets the recommended requirements of the complete AMD CrossFire setup. There are free 3rd party tools available online that can determine the power requirements of your system.

2. Check with your motherboard manufacturer that your motherboard is AMD CrossFire compatible with the required number of PCIe x16 slots available (running at a minimum of PCIe x8 speed).