cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

philmar
Journeyman III

Every time I boot my system I get a Windows error "radeonSettings.exe - application error The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000142)"

I am a photographer not a computer whiz. I use Lightroom/photoshop for photography. Every time I boot my system I get a Windows error popup:

"radeonSettings.exe - application error

The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000142)"

I run W10 and have a Radeon RX 460 with up to date driver v.18.1.1

ASUS P8Z77-V Pro Thunderbolt, 32 GB RAM with a i7-3770K OC to 4.18 GHz using mobo BIOS settings.

I am unable to launch "AMD Problem Report Wizard" from the W10 Start Menu or from the AMD Radeon Settings (which does launch)

Also, when I run SandraLite it states for my GPU: "Video BIOS (firmware) update available. To update, visit the manufacturer's website."

My GPU has a BIOS that I can update?

0 Likes
3 Replies
philmar
Journeyman III

• AMD Graphics Card = AMD RX 460
  • Desktop System
  • Operating System = Windows 10 64bit
  • Driver version installed = v.18.1.1
  • Display Device:   BenQ SW2700
  • Motherboard : Asus P8Z77 Pro Thunderbolt
  • CPU/APU: i7 3770K
  • RAM - 32 GB
0 Likes

Should this be in a different forum?

0 Likes
ceratx18
Journeyman III

Hi,  I had the same error message for months, and found this post via google.

See also: https://community.amd.com/thread/222989

So here is what helped me:

In Dec 2017 I updated my Windows 10 to the Fall Creators Update and the latest AMD drivers for my R9 380.

After that I always got the same error message after each PC reboot: "RadeonSettings.exe - Application Error. The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000142)."