cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

hootfat
Journeyman III

Specification of my CPU

Let's say I have a AMD CPU, how can I find specification of every ability of his? All asm instruction with details of how they work, memory and operating mechanisms, stuff like that. It's just seems very odd that I had to read some third-party papers to find out whats happening inside my CPU, so for a moment I thought maybe there is offical documents for that?

0 Likes
5 Replies
dipak
Big Boss

http://developer.amd.com/resources/developer-guides-manuals/

For more manuals and references please visit here: Tech Docs

P.S. You've been white-listed now.

Regards,

0 Likes

Thank you for respond.

There is "AMD64 Architecture Programmer’s Manual Volume N" which is for AMD64, but I only have AMD Athlon K7 so how can I find manual exactly about my CPU? The clostest thing I found is "Am486®Microprocessor Software User’s Manual". I'm no expert, but this isn't the one, right?

0 Likes

24592.pdf

LEA has a limited capability to perform multiplication of operands in general-purpose registers using scaled-index addressing. For example: lea eax, [ebx+ebx*8] loads the value of the EBX register, multiplied by 9, into the EAX register.

*8, multiplied by 9, that doesn't seem right

0 Likes

No, he's right.  The expression specified in the ASM instruction is [ebx+ebx*8], so that's EBX multiplied by 8 PLUS an extra copy of EBX, making 9 in total.  There are quite a few small integers for which LEA can be used as a cheap multiplier.

0 Likes

I think you can still use the AMD64 manuals for K7, as long as you remember that K7 doesn't support "long mode" (64-bit), SSE2, or any later ISA extensions; the AMD64 architecture still includes the "old" modes for backwards compatibility, and these are documented as such.

You can use CPU-Z or /proc/cpuinfo to remind yourself of exactly which ISA extensions *are* supported on your particular CPU.