cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

OpenCL hangs in clfinish after queueing up more then 12 kernels

I am a OpenCL newbie, so if I am doing something which is just apparently wrong, do correct me.

I have a multi-window app, and I am using one OpenCL context/commandqueue/kernel per window. Things works fine right when I open up to like 12 windows, but if I open like 16 windows, it will eventually crash within 5mins - few hours.  What happens is that the kernel "seems" to get stuck  and clfinish never returns. Eventually I see a DX11 device reset, and all my OpenCL windows turn black..  I am running Win10 Aniversary, and 16.15 version of AMD driver. (The system is not hung, I can kill the process, and redo the test again). I had followed the suggestions to disable TDRreset but it doesn't fix the problem.

I am not sure how I get to debugging this. Any help/suggestsions would be appreciated  I have a very simple kernel.

const char* pKernelSrc = "__kernel void imgProcess(__global uint * pSrcData, __write_only image2d_t pData, int2 imgDim)          \n \

{                                                                \n \

int posX = get_global_id(0); \n \

int posY = get_global_id(1); \n \

float fBlue0, fGreen0, fRed0; \n \

uint    ulData = pSrcData[posX + (posY * imgDim.x) ]; \n \

fBlue0  = (float) (ulData & 0x1f) ; \n \

fGreen0 = (float) (ulData & 0x7e0) ; \n \

fRed0   = (float) (ulData & 0xf800) ; \n \

fBlue0  = fBlue0/ 32.0f; \n \

fGreen0 = fGreen0/ 2048.0f; \n \

fRed0  = fRed0/ 65768.0f; \n \

write_imagef(pData, (int2) (posX, posY), (float4)(fRed0, fGreen0, fBlue0, 1.0f)); \n \

} ";