Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

lennox
Adept I

About the cache coherence between CPU and descrete GPU

Hi all,

I am studying how to create an interactive connection between a CPU and a descrete CPU on OpenCL.

I create a buffer(unsigned long) with CL_MEM_ALLOC_HOST_PTR flag, and then I pass the buffer to be a kernel argument.

I am sure the buffer is pinned in host memory by the report of the CodeXL.

The kernel code for GPU  is an infinite loop to probe the buffer, if the buffer is not zero, the loop will break.

After issue the kernel code, the CPU-side program waits for a while and then changes the buffer to 1.

(I call clEnqueueMapBuffer to get the pointer and call clEnqueueUnmapMemObject after the modification)

I expect that the GPU could notice the buffer is not zero and then exits the infinite loop.

However, the result is the loop cannot be terminated.

I  doubt it is because the GPU has cached the content of the buffer and the vaule is still zero.

Will the hardware or the dirver keep cache coherence?

If the answer is no, can I flush the cache of GPU?

0 Likes
4 Replies
lennox
Adept I

I forgot to say that I map and unmap the buffer via another queue.

And there are some update,

I tried malloc() and CL_MEM_USE_HOST_PTR, the result is the same.

I also tried to execute the kernel on a multicore CPU, ans there is no change.

Partial code

========

main thread

====

// Create a command queue

cl_command_queue command_queue = clCreateCommandQueue(context, device_id,

CL_QUEUE_PROFILING_ENABLE ,

&ret);

cl_command_queue memop_queue = clCreateCommandQueue(context, device_id,

CL_QUEUE_PROFILING_ENABLE ,

&ret);

char *buf_flag = malloc(sizeof(unsigned long));

cl_mem flags=clCreateBuffer(context,CL_MEM_READ_WRITE |CL_MEM_USE_HOST_PTR, sizeof(buf_flag) ,buf_flag, &ret);

ret = clSetKernelArg(kernel, 0, sizeof(cl_mem), (void *)&flags);

ret = clEnqueueNDRangeKernel(command_queue, kernel, 1, NULL,