Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

kjo
Adept I

OpenCL Requirements for Newbies on Linux

Hi Guys,

I am totally new to OpenCL and GPU Programming. I am working on my Thesis which is Ray Tracing with GLSL and OpenCL. I also want to realise this project with Qt in C/C++. I tried some OpenCL Tutorials on my Laptop with Win 7 but somehow it never worked under Visual Studio, even after visiting different forums. Another Problem is also that under Windows the interoperability between OpenCL and GLSL in Qt doesn't work. Thats why i am changing my operating system to linux and i heard that developing under linux is easier. My Laptop uses two GPUs, the Intel GPU and a ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650. Under Windows it is always switching between them when the power cable is connected or not. So here is my question. Can Somebody recommend me something like a development requirement for my Project? I mean, what kind of drivers should i use or is there a possibility that in linux i can still switch between those two GPU or do i have to choose my primary GPU? What kind of Linux Distribution should i take? I am asking these kind of Questions because i am really frustrated that not even some OpenCL Tutorials doesn't work after 2-3 Weeks of Research on my Laptop.

Thanks beforehand.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Have you installed Catalyst driver ?? For notebooks, this is available from the notebook vendor only.

Anyway, Check the catalyst driver download page. It will tell you what notebooks are supported etc..

View solution in original post

0 Likes
8 Replies
nou
Exemplar

I don't think that Qt is problem under windows but switchable graphics. I did OpenGL/OpenCL interoperability under Windows and Linux. AFAIK Linux can't switch between graphics without reboot. I recommend choosing some from supported distro which are RedHat, SUSE, OpenSUSE or Ubuntu.