Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

yuvikarti
Journeyman III

How RV7xx CU works?

Hello all,

This might the same question asked again. I don't understand how the CU works, particularly the threads. I'm a newbie to GPU programming and I'm trying to understand the working R700.

I understand that

each CU(SIMD pipeline) has 16 Thread processors or 16 VLIW cores or 16 lanes.

Okay, here are my assumptions:

assumption 1.

--------------------

program:

clause1: add1, add2, mul1, div1

clause2: add1, add2, add3, div1

a CU has 64 threads which is divided into 4 wavefronts.

Wavefront 1: thread 0 - thread 15

Wavefront 2: thread 16 - thread 31

Wavefront 3: thread 32 - thread 47

Wavefront 4: thread 48 - thread 64

they say, same instruction repeats 4 times(4 cycles) on an SIMD pipeline, also in every lane.

does that mean,

wavefront 1 is executed in 1st cycle

wavefront 2 is executed in 2nd cycle

wavefront 3 is executed in 3rd cycle

wavefront 4 is executed in 4th cycle

?

assumption 2:

--------------------

some say that a group of 64 threads is 1 wavefront. I read the R700 ISA guide. And I read this phrase under Types of Shared REgisters:

"shared registers enables data sharing between threads residing in a lane of different wavefronts and that are scheduled to execute on a given SIMD."

i was like "wait... what?!" my right eye twitched for 2 seconds.

the phrase "threads residing in a lane of different wavefronts", does it mean:

WFs     |     Threads/TP0(lane0)     |     Threads/TP1(lane1)     | ...

WF0     |     T0                    |     T1

WF1     |     T16                  |     T17

WF2     |     T32                  |     T33

WF3     |     T48                  |     T49

??

does different wavefronts in the sense 4 wavefronts aligned in a pipelined fashion?

say while T0-T15 is executing ALU and T16-T31 performs fetching(internally)? is this how R700 h/w is trying to improve performance?