Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

dasmith
Journeyman III

XNA 4.0 black screen with subset of ATI cards and drivers

I'm a game developer currently working with XNA 4.0

We've recently had a few cases were customers and media have been unable to play our 2 xna titles due to the program going to a black screen and staying there. The program is still running, as you can hear noises and even interact with object, but the screen is completely black. It was possible to sometimes get the screen to rerender, such as by minimizing-maximizing, but it would then go to a black screen after a few moments. This occurs in both fullscreen and windowed modes, as well as XNA's HiDef and Reach profiles. The issue seemed to occur much faster when content was being loaded/unloaded. We know that at least 2 cards and 2 drivers have this issue.

Known affected cards:

from DxDiag of one outside source (AMD Radeon 7850 from XFX😞

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.130104-1431)

Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 9550 Quad-Core Processor (4 CPUs), ~2.2GHz

Card name: AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series

Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.

Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6819)

DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)

Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6819&SUBSYS_32641682&REV_00

Display Memory: 4095 MB

Dedicated Memory: 2031 MB

Shared Memory: 2064 MB

Current Mode: 1600 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)

Monitor Name: HP 2009 Series Wide LCD Monitor

Monitor Model: HP 2009

Monitor Id: HWP2828

Native Mode: 1600 x 900(p) (60.000Hz)

Output Type: DVI

Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1172 (English)

Driver Version: 9.12.0.0

from an internal build where we were able to duplicate the issue:

Windows 7 64-bit

ATI 5450 HD with 13.1 drivers, 13.3 Beta, as well as the 12.1 drivers.