cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

gpugpu2012
Journeyman III

Availability of some features in OpenCL 1.2

I am a CUDA developer shifting to OpenCL. I am facing lots of difficulties in understanding which of the below mentioned features are also available in OpenCl, just like in CUDA.

:   

1. Overlapping Kernel Execution  with some host function 
  2. Overlapping Multiple Kernel Executions
  3. Overlapping Kernel Execution with CPU-GPU or GPU-CPU memcpy 
  4. Overlapping CPU-GPU memcpy with GPU-CPU memcpy
  5. Copying data from  Host memory to device memory Or opposite, without involving CPU/GPu, i.e DMA
  6. Copying data from one GPU to another GPU directly, just like GPUDirect 
  7. Disabling certain no. of cores in GPU
  8. Recursion, and if yes, then what is the maximum depth 

If available, are these overlapping operations Concurrently executed  or executed in parallel(as the GPU is having multiple cores)?

I shall greatly appreciate response on this  If you can just give small pointers I will start exploring the details.

Thanks,

0 Likes
8 Replies
dmeiser
Elite

Hi,

Overall, OpenCL is slightly higher level than CUDA in terms of concurrency and asynchronous programming. In your program you state which events a memory transfer or a kernel call depends. If all these events have occured (or there are no other dependencies) then the runtime is free to issue that memory transaction or kernel call. The point is that the scheduling is left to the runtime. Whether certain things can be overlapped (e.g. a memory transfer and execution of a kernel) is up to the runtime to decide and it depends on hardware support (e.g. availability of DMA engines).

That being said, on recent AMD hardware and OpenCL runtimes points 1 through 6 are available. The NVIDIA opencl runtime has them as well. I don't think 7 is available for AMD hardware/runtime.