Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

rwelsch
Adept I

Optimizing code for GCN

Hey,

I have some basic questions concerning GCN and optimizing my code for this architecture.

As far as I understand there is a limit of 10 wave-fronts per SIMD unit and a Compute Unit is composed of 4 SIMD units; so I can run 40 wave-fronts on one compute unit in parallel, right?

And there is also a limit of 16 work-groups per Compute Unit, if the work-groups size is greater than 1 wave-front (64 work items). Does that mean, that I can run 40 work-groups on one Compute Unit if my local work group size is 64 (= 1 wave-front)?

The other limiting resources are then 25 registers per work item (64kB of registers for 10 wave-fronts) and 1.6 kB of local memory (64 kB for 40 work-groups). Is this correct, or do I miss something?

Thanks for all the help, I'm just getting started with GPU computing and OpenCl, etc.

Ralph

0 Likes
1 Solution

rwelsch wrote:
Alright, but as I said, I am mainly memory bound, and so I'm still wondering, if I can run 40 work-groups each containing of 1 wavefront on 1 CU or if I have to run less work-groups of larger size (i.e. 10 work-groups, 256 work items each) to have optimal latency hiding.
If you schedule 40 workgroups of one wavefront each to each CU, then that will completely fill all the resources assuming you are not limited by other factors (such as local memory usage, regsters, etc.)  Another way to fill the CU is to schedule 10 workgroups of four wavefronts per CU.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
9 Replies

Hi Ralph,

Welcome to the GPGPU community.

Just to clarify a bit, the numbers you are referring to are the recommended numbers for a GCN GPU. In most cases actual numbers will depend on the problem you would be working on.

rwelsch wrote:

Hey,

I have some basic questions concerning GCN and optimizing my code for this architecture.