cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

Very poor OpenCL performance

Hello,

I'm new to OpenCL, so I guess I'm doing some silly mistake..

I tried to create simple program for image thresholding using OpenCL. Simplified version of the source code source is attached to this post.  The program work well, but execution time is very poor.

When I execute the program on RGB image 5760x3240, the program output is [time is in miliseconds]:

clCreateBuffer: 25.649242
clSetKernelArg: 0.001205
clEnqueueNDRangeKernel: 0.536059
clFinish: 66.903236
clEnqueueReadBuffer: 17.060545

When I use IPP's threshold (Intel performance primitives) on the same picture, then the threshold takes 40 ms. 

Why is my OpenCL program running on GPU so slow? I expected it to be much more faster.

My hardware:

Win7 Home, 64bit
CPU AMD Phenom II X4 965, 3.4GHs (4 cores)
6GB RAM
GPU: GIGABYTE, ATI Radeon 5750 
AMD APP SDK v2.4 

Thanks for any hint..