Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

Sadikuz
Adept I

char array manipulation

Hi, all.

I'm a complete newbie in OpenCL and I need some help in a piece of code I'm working for practice. What I need to do is load an entire text file (~19M) in device's global memory (GPU), copy blocks of 32 or 64 (this value can change) lines to local memory and then search for a specifics therms (a customer list, with ~14000 names) in that block. So I'll have a lot threads, each one looking for a specific name. My main problem is that I don't know how to copy my text file (which is actually stored in a 2D char array in C) to device's memory. Every time I have acess restricted to the 1st element of array. Can you give some advice on how can I do this?

0 Likes
4 Replies
tonyo_au
Journeyman III

One way would create a 2D integer texture, copy the data to the image and then access it as a texture.

Another is to create a buffer (which is a 1D array), copy the names to it with a stride that is as wide as the longest name. Now each name is 1 stride apart in the buffer.

A third options is to have 2 buffers - one is a 1D array with the names tightly packed and an index array. This may be more efficient on memory but I don't whether it is as good preformance wise.

From what I have read data in multiples of 16 is best. Someone may be able to common more on the efficency of these methods

0 Likes

The first method will definitely allow you to allocate enough memory, but you might have to get clever with indexing if you have more than 8192 strings (the max height of an image).