cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

cconvey
Journeyman III

Newbie question: "stream core" vs. "simd processor" ?

What's the difference? What supports MIMD?

I'm new to GPU programming, but I understand the MIMD-SIMD distinction.

I have an existing algorithm that's data-parallel, but the algorithm it applies to a given datum is quite complicated and contains lots of branching.

For this reason, I'm considering using a FireStream board as a highly parallel MIMD device, regardless of what it's SIMD capabilities might be.

AMD advertizes its 9370 board's GPU as having 1600 stream cores and 20 SIMD processors.  but I'm not clear on what they mean by "stream core" vs. "SIMD processor".  Can anyone explain (or point me to a good document?)

If I'm going to use that board as a MIMD device, I'm trying to understand if this thing offers me 20x MIMD parallelism, 1600x MIMD parallelism, or something else.

0 Likes
5 Replies
bridgman
Staff

I don't have a handy link to good documentation, but the basic idea is :

- GPU has 20 SIMD engines

- each SIMD works on 16 data elements at a time, where each data element consists of 4 32-bit values (in graphics a data element might be a vertex or a pixel, each of which have multiple components)

- on any given cycle a SIMD runs the same instructions on all 16 data elements, but another SIMD might be running a different instruction from a different program (on 16 *different* data elements) on the same clock

- the "instructions" run on each data element per clock allow 5 different operations simultaneously, for a total of 20 SIMDs x 16 elements per SIMD x 5 operations per element per clock, or 1600 simultaneous ALU operations

Stream core in this context would refer to a single ALU, while SIMD refers to a bank of 16x5 ALUs performing up to 5 instructions simultaneously on each of 16 data elements.

Clear as mud ?

0 Likes