Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

erman_amd
Journeyman III

Parallel reduction on GPU/CPU using OpenCL

Hi,

Is there a way to do parallel reduction without using local memory?

I studied the sample provided in AMD APP SDK 2.4. It uses local memory and only recieve one vector as its input

I want to do parallel reduction and without using local memory. For example, the kernel receives 3 input vectors and outputs three values (each is the reduction value of each vector). Is it possible write this kind of kernel? Any hints, helps?

Thank you

0 Likes
5 Replies

In a single pass algorithm, this can be done with atomics with global memory. However performance will not be nearly as good as using local memory because you will be serializing access to VRAM and access to globals is far slower than access to local.

The other option is to do it with the streaming model and do a log(N) passes and each pass reduces the data set in half.
0 Likes

Hi Micah,

I'm interesting in the first option (atomics with global memory). Can you explain more on this or point me to an example in the SDK?

I think the reduction sample in the SDK is an example of the second option (streaming model). It uses multi-stage reduction or tree reduction with local memory. Am I right? Can I implement this second option without using local memory?

0 Likes

Originally posted by: MicahVillmow The other option is to do it with the streaming model and do a log(N) passes and each pass reduces the data set in half.

How does this option compare in speed?  Compared to the single pass atomic reduction and the local memory reduction.

Since CPUs don't have local memory like GPUs to take advantage of (although they have cashing), which method is best on the CPU?

0 Likes