Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

TheyDroppedMe
Journeyman III

Need help understanding VLIW4/5

Need some clarification for my senior thesis

Hey everyone,

First of all, I'd like to introduce myself - my name is Greg and I'm a student at Georgia Tech writing my senior thesis. I've been searching for and reading some articles about exactly how ATI/AMD's VLIW architecture works (wikipedia, anandtech, bit-tech, etc) but there are still a few things that I'm a little unclear about and I'm hoping that someone here will be able to answer for me.

Here's what I do know so far (using Cayman's VLIW4 architecture for this example): the chip's shaders are organized into blocks of SIMD cores, each of which is comprised of 16 VLIW4 bundles. Each VLIW4 bundle has 4 identical execution units (EU's), usually referred to as X, Y, Z, and W elements. That gives each SIMD core a total of 64 execution units -- giving the Radeon HD 6970, which has 24 SIMD cores IIRC, a total of 1536 EU's.

Now from what I can understand, each SIMD core can execute independent threads, correct? I'm thinking that each SIMD core is seperate in the way that cpu cores are separate (independent threads and execution, but with shared cache and other higher-level hardware), or am I mistaken? Also, I am assuming that the "SIMD" in SIMD core refers to Single Instruction, Multiple Data. So does the grouping of execution hardware into SIMD cores makes the GPU effectively a MIMD/SIMD hybrid (in that it can do multiple SIMD operations simultaneously)?