Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

bennC32
Journeyman III

Aparapi: Problems using my own compiled class files

Can't use my own compiled class files with Aparapi

I'm new to Aparapi and I having some trouble running my own compiled samples.

I can't seem to run the Aparapi samples in GPU execution mode using java class files I generate.  The samples (e.g, mandel) work fine in JTP mode using my class files, and the work fine in both JTP  and GPU mode if I use the distributed class files.  The files compile cleanly, but when I try to run them in GPU mode I get the following:

-----------------------------

C32% java -Dcom.amd.aparapi.executionMode=GPU com/amd/aparapi/sample/mandel/Main
com.amd.aparapi.classtools.ClassParseException: java.lang.NullPointerException
    at com.amd.aparapi.classtools.MethodModel.<init>(MethodModel.java:1123)
    at com.amd.aparapi.classtools.ClassModel.getMethodModel(ClassModel.java:2200)
    at com.amd.aparapi.classtools.ClassModel.getEntrypoint(ClassModel.java:2565)
    at com.amd.aparapi.classtools.ClassModel.getEntrypoint(ClassModel.java:2574)
    at com.amd.aparapi.KernelRunner.execute(KernelRunner.java:397)
    at com.amd.aparapi.Kernel.execute(Kernel.java:1354)
    at com.amd.aparapi.sample.mandel.Main.main(Main.java:274)
Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
    at com.amd.aparapi.classtools.MethodModel.<init>(MethodModel.java:1092)
    ... 6 more
Execution mode=JTP
FPS = 10
C32%

----------------------------------

Any hints or suggestions would be appreciated.

For backgoround, I have just installed the latest (V2.3) APP SDK and the examples provided with that seem to work fine.  I'm using java version "1.6.0_24" on Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit.

0 Likes
5 Replies
gfrostamd
Staff

So this is the unchanged mandel source sample form the zip install?

Which javac did you use?  Was this Oracles (formerly Sun's) javac that was used to compile mandel?  Or was this using the jars from the zip?