Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

Meteorhead
Challenger

What if...?

Would you like this future?

Let this thread surve as a little survey:

I have an idea that seems to be able to reach reality in the near future, but I don't see any signs of this being pushed on any fronts (OS, customer feedback, HW development, etc.). Anybody whom I asked said "yes, that would be so cool", all technological problems have been solved, yet I don't see any signs of it to appear anytime soon.

I have got rid of my desktop a few years ago and to tell the truth, it makes life a lot easier. I am a programmer (surprise-surprise, writing to dev forum) mainly interested in OpenCL. I took my laptop to work everyday, and syncing files with my home desktop has always been a hassle (I could not develop OpenCL on mobility 2300, just test on CPU). Now I got a 17" laptop with mobility 5870, and all of that is past. Having a mobile workstatition (that fulfills all my gaming needs also, and has a nice big screen for watching films on holidays) is very easy to get used to.

If I heard well, Microsoft is trying to "cloud" Windows8, namely some apps of the OS would run on a cloud, but more importantly My Documents would be stored on a remote server for easy access, no matter where you are in the world. (This is a rumor I heard, didn't care too much to verify, it is not my main point, just thought I'd mention). If this is true, this would be the non-crossvendor solution to easy file syncing accross locations.

And now to the point...