cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

DRI
Journeyman III

How to start Operating system development?

Good evening people,

I'm currently learning how it's working AMD's processors and globally The Operating systems.

BUT

I've got a really huge problem, I don't know what's I'm suppose to read, to be able to develop a really simple and little Bootloader.

My goal at the end is to develop a little and basic Operating system.

But to do this, I need to find a really good book about that.

I'm currently a System architect, but I'm really pationate and want to build my own system, but it's pretty hard to find any simple informations about how to detect a CPU / memory / hard drive controllers and basic display.

Last thing, I'm really sorry if my english ugly, but I'm french

0 Likes
14 Replies
avk
Adept III

What about Menuet OS? You may download its 32-bit version with the source and begin your study.

0 Likes
DRI
Journeyman III

Well, in fact for the begining I'm trying to figure out how is working the CPU, I mean, which are the default memory addresses called when I start my CPU and where are they store? I rom? On the CPU? the both? in RAM?

If I try to make my own CPU, How I'm suppose to address the memory?

How the CPU know where is the memory and others devices?

Many thanks for menuetOS, I've already looked it, but I'll have to learn assembler a little bit more 😄

For now, I develop with C++

0 Likes
DRI
Journeyman III

Well, after a bunch of research on our best friend the well nemed, GOOGLE, I've found a really good tutorial about: "Design and programming your own CPU"

AND CHERRY on the top of the cake! IS IN FRENCH!!!

Well, I'll learn and read this tutorial.

Many thanks.

0 Likes
Rush314
Journeyman III

I'm glad you have the os-dev bug!

Perhaps a place to start:

hhtp://wiki.osdev.org/Main_Page

and

http://forum.osdev.org/

0 Likes

Many thanks for your links dude.