Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

niravshah00
Journeyman III

Multithreaded Brook+ algorithm from a nested for loop

Hi ,

I am new to Brook+  programming . I read a the Brook+ programming guide and could not figure out how to create mutiple threads in the kernel to take advantage of the GPU .

The Goal is to convert the a algorithm with 4 nested for loop to a multi threaded Brook+ program so as to improve the perfomance .

Is there anything where i can learn how to do this ?

Thanks,

Nirav

0 Likes
54 Replies

Also can anyone tell me how do i return results from my kernel the thing is i don't want to use the output stream, as barely 1 or 2 threads would give me result , so I don't want to filter the whole output stream in  the host code ,since the no. of threads would possibly scale (atleast i am trying to do that)

here is my kernel kernel void threadABC(int startRange,out int a<>) { int X,Y,Z; int A,B,C; int gcdAB,gcdAC,gcdBC; A = instance().x+startRange; B = instance().y+startRange; C = instance().z+startRange; gcdAB = findGcd(A,B); gcdAC = findGcd(A,C); gcdBC = findGcd(B,C); if(gcdAB==1 && gcdAC==1 && gcdBC==1){ //threadXY(instance().x+1000,instance().y+1000,instance()+1000.z,a); for( X = 3; X < 10; X++) { for( Y = 3; Y < 10; Y++) { float sum = pow((float)A, (float)X)+pow((float)B, (float)Y); float Z = (log((float)sum)/log((float)C)); float epsillon = 10E-4f; if(isWithinRange(Z,epsillon)){ } } } } } // and here is my host code int main(int argc, char ** argv) { // int i,j; unsigned int dim[] = {2,1,1}; brook::Stream<int> aStream(2,dim); //int a<10,10,10>; threadABC.domainOffset(uint4(0,0,0,0)); threadABC.domainSize(uint4(2*2,3*1,2*1)); threadABC(1000,aStream); return 0; }

0 Likes

I am very close to closing this .

0 Likes