Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

niravshah00
Journeyman III

Multithreaded Brook+ algorithm from a nested for loop

Hi ,

I am new to Brook+  programming . I read a the Brook+ programming guide and could not figure out how to create mutiple threads in the kernel to take advantage of the GPU .

The Goal is to convert the a algorithm with 4 nested for loop to a multi threaded Brook+ program so as to improve the perfomance .

Is there anything where i can learn how to do this ?

Thanks,

Nirav

0 Likes
54 Replies
gaurav_garg
Adept I

Specific sections of http://developer.amd.com/gpu_assets/Stream_Computing_User_Guide.pdf might help you. Also, looking at Brook+ samples shippped with SDK should be a good start.

0 Likes

Gaurav,

I really appreciate your help .

Thanks a lot

0 Likes

The samples aren't very helpful

0 Likes

All the examples doesn teach you how to code in brook+ and the documentation available with the sdk is not for beginers .

Wondering how to people start working on Brook+.

I am guessing there must be some resources which i am not aware of.

0 Likes

Have you looked at Brook+ tutorials shipping with SDK. Those are pretty basic.

0 Likes

Gaurav ,

I looked at the tutorials and most of them are pretty basic and are comparision on GPU and CPU

None of those tell me how to create a multi- threaded brook+ code.

0 Likes

Are you talking about creation of multiple threads inside kernel or writing multi-threaded host program with Brook+?

The number of threads that execute on GPUs is implicit and is equal to number of elemenets in your output stream.

You can explicitly control this by using domainOffset and domainSize methods on your kernel.

For, multi-threaded host-program you can take a look at MultiGPU tutorial.

0 Likes

I want to create threads on GPU to take full advantage of the multiple processsor on GPU .