How do I delete my profile?

Version 1

    The short answer is: you can't. However, a community admin can do this for you. You can PM one of the forum moderators, or post a message here in the Community Help forum, and we'll take care of it.

     

    We can do this one of two ways, as you prefer.

     

    1: Inactivate your profile

    What changes is

    • You won't be able to log in
    • Your profile will be invisible to anyone in the community (except an admin)
    • The items you posted in the forums remain for others to see
    • We can reactivate your profile/account (if you contact us directly and ask, but you can't log in using the inactive account)

     

    Choose this option if you asked questions, answered questions, and so on, and you want that activity/content to remain for the community to see. They will see your content, but cannot see your profile.

     

    2: Delete your profile

    What changes is

    • You won't be able to log in
    • Your profile is deleted, no one, not even an admin, can see it or recover it
    • All of your activity is deleted permanently - everything you posted in the community is deleted
    • If you created a topic and other people answered, all the answers will be deleted as well
    • There is no undo. Once gone, it's gone.

     

    If you decide to come back, you can always create a new account.